The Journey, Part One

My ordinary world is a complicated place.

I work in marketing, which inherently means I’m juggling twelve different things at once, each of them co-dependent on the others. Time devoted to one task is to the detriment of the next task on my list.

It’s an exhausting process – so much so, that I had to leave my last job because of the exhaustion. I was burnt out, and I needed a break. So I came to Queensland, my home state, to recover.

I’ve travelled before – my About page tells you more – but it’s not just travelling itself that restores your spirit. There’s something indefinable about the whole travel experience.

I can try to define it, but I won’t do it justice: it’s like refilling a bucket. It’s like, over time, we get stuck in ruts and routines that force our ordinary lives into patterns we can’t change.Yup. It's a bucket. I call him Doug.

Every now and then, we need to escape the routine.

We need to refill the bucket.

We need to break out of the ordinary and explode into the extraordinary, if only to achieve a few days (or in my case, two weeks) of escapism. Of seeing the world from the outside in, of seeing what is really going on in our lives instead of being caught up in the daily routine.

So when the unexpected opportunity to travel came up in a period of my life when I needed some clarity – of course I jumped at it.

Wouldn’t you?

Continued in tomorrow’s post: The Journey, Part Two.

People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances within our own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.
– The Power of Myth (1988), Joseph Campbell with Bill Moyers

One response to this post.

  1. […] 25, 2010 by adamcorney in adventure, ayatana, feeling, journey. Leave a Comment Previously: The Journey, Part One | The Journey, Part […]

Comments are closed.

